Distinguished Physicians honored at annual meeting

Distinguished Physicians honored at annual meeting


From left to right: Dr. Stephen Fletcher, Dr. Jerry Wolinsky and Dr. Philip Johnson


Long time Team Leader and Board Member, Dr. Phil Johnson was recently honored with the Distinguished Physician Award  at the Memorial Hermann’-Texas Medical Center Annual Medical Staff meeting. We cannot think of anyone more deserving of this recognition. Congratulations Phil!  For the full article, please read below. 


Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center (TMC) honored three McGovern Medical School faculty members with the Distinguished Physician Award at the Annual Medical Staff Meeting held in December.


Recognized for their significant contributions while spending the majority of their career at Memorial Hermann-TMC were Stephen Fletcher, M.D.Philip Johnson, M.D.; and Jerry Wolinksy, M.D.


The Distinguished Physician Award was created in 1986 at the suggestion of then medical staff president Richard Blakely, M.D. Blakely’s words to the first honorees were: “Your achievements have been the foundation and inspiration for the achievements of students and peers. By constantly challenging residents, medical professionals and each other to perfect skills, to question limitations, to seek answers and to re-examine what it means to be committed to the care of human beings, you have forged the path for Memorial Hermann to offer excellence in patient care. Memorial Hermann’s greatest asset has been the quality of both the science and humanity of your services.”


Memorial Hermann’s Medical Executive Committee reviews a number of criteria to select the distinguished physicians among medical staff members who have been credentialed with the hospital for more than 20 years. Honorees make significant contributions to the Campus, participating in professional and educational programs, and demonstrating goodwill, fellowship, and leadership skills.


Fletcher, associate professor in the Division of Pediatric Neurosurgery, received his doctorate of osteopathic medicine from North Texas State University Health Science Center, Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine. He completed his neurosurgery residency at Oklahoma Osteopathic Hospital and Memorial Hermann Hospital, and completed a fellowship in pediatric neurosurgery at Dallas Children’s Hospital. He is board certified in neurosurgery by the American Osteopathic Board of Surgery and has a special interest in brain tumors and vascular disorders in children.


Fletcher’s research interests include: Chiari malformation in children, comparative studies of canine and pediatric brain tumors, medical management of trauma-associated brain swelling and attempts at culturing brain tumor cell lines in collaboration with The University of Texas MD Anderson Children’s Cancer Center.


Johnson, professor and director of the Division of General Internal Medicine, completed his medical school and residency at Baylor College of Medicine in 1979 and a fellowship in Infectious Disease at McGovern Medical School in 1982. Johnson served as the associate program director of the University Clinical Research Center at Memorial Hermann for 15 years and is currently a vice chairman in the Department of Internal Medicine. His research interests include fungal infections and HIV/AIDS. He has authored more than 100 publications.


Johnson was listed in Texas Super Doctors and the Best Doctors in America a total of four times and was voted as one of Houston’s Top Doctors in 2002. Johnson is a diplomate of the American Board of Internal Medicine as well as a fellow in the American College of Physicians.



Wolinsky, Opal C. Rankin Professor in Neurology, received his medical degree from the University of Illinois in 1969 and completed his residency in clinical neurology and a fellowship in experimental neuropathology at the University of California San Francisco. He later joined the faculty of the Schools of Medicine and Hygiene and Public


Health at Johns Hopkins University. Certified by the National Board of Medical Examiners and the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Wolinsky’s primary clinical interests are multiple sclerosis and related demyelinating disorders and magnetic resonance imaging. His research has been continuously funded by the NIH, NMSS, industry, and philanthropy.


He serves as director of the Multiple Sclerosis Research Group and the Magnetic Resonance Imaging Analysis Center at UTHealth. He is recognized in The Best Doctors in America and America’s Top Doctors and has authored more than 300 publications.


Article reposted from UT Health - McGovern Medical School News

Original article can be accessed at https://med.uth.edu/news/2016/02/18/distinguished-physicians-honored-at-...